Our Board Members

Fife Law Centre is a registered charity (SC039780), constituted as a company limited by guarantee. It operates as a Board of Trustees which sustains and supports a private legal firm, Fife Community Law Ltd (SC365122). The purpose of the Board is to set the strategic direction of, and secure the resources for, Fife Law Centre, and to work with the Principal Solicitor to support the delivery of services. Board members have a wide range of experience and knowledge and you can find out more about them here.

Tom Marshall - Board Chair

Tom has lived in Fife for over 30 years. He graduated in law from Dundee University in 1979. He has been a solicitor and partner in law firms in Glasgow and Edinburgh and most recently in his own practice. He has also been a solicitor advocate for over 25 years for the most part representing people who have developed industrial diseases.

He is a past President of the Society of Solicitor Advocates and a former member of the Council of the Law Society of Scotland. His principal interest outside work and family is music and for many years he has sung and played with the Inverkeithing Community Big Band.

Peter Wilson - Vice Chair
Callum Macinnes - Board Member
Thomas Docherty - Board Member

Thomas Docherty joined Which? in January 2017 as Head of Public Affairs Scotland and in July 2019 became Head of Public Affairs, Nations and Regions. Thomas leads on all Which?’s engagement with devolved administrations, politicians, regulators and other key stakeholders in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, as well the Metro Mayors in the English regions of England. He represents Which? on the Scottish Government’s scams advisory group, the working group on regulation of legal services, and the Consumer Protection Network.

In October 2019 he was appointed by the Lord President to be a member of the Scottish Civil Justice Council, the body that prepares draft rules of procedure for the civil courts and advises the Lord President on the development of the civil justice system in Scotland.

Thomas was the Member of Parliament for Dunfermline and West Fife from May 2010 to May 2015. He was the Shadow Minister with responsibility for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs between 2013 and 2014, and in 2014 was appointed Shadow Deputy Leader of the House of Commons. Prior to his election in 2010 he worked in Property Development, Rail and the Energy Generation sectors.

In his spare time Thomas is Chairman of Dunfermline Round Table and Secretary of the Dunfermline Beer Festival Committee.

Katherine Pearson - Board Member
Ruth Livingstone - Board Member

Interested in joining our board?

To find out more or submit an application, complete the form below